Anbox Cloud documentation

Anbox Cloud offers a software stack that runs Android applications in any cloud enabling high-performance streaming of graphics to desktop and mobile client devices.

At its heart, it uses lightweight container technology instead of full virtual machines to achieve higher density and better performance per host while ensuring security and isolation of each container. Depending on the target platform, payload, and desired application performance (e.g. frame rate), more than 100 containers can be run on a single machine.

For containerization of Android, Anbox Cloud uses the well established and secure container hypervisor LXD. LXD is secure by design, scales to a large number of containers and provides advanced resource management for hosted containers.

Also have a look at the official Anbox Cloud website for more information.

What Anbox Cloud offers

Anbox Cloud provides management of an entire cluster of machines running the Anbox Cloud software and maintains a single Android system per container. It is based on powerful and battle proven software from Canonical like LXD or Juju.

It’s core features are:

  • Simple and straightforward deployment using Juju on any cloud
  • Specialized management service to handle all aspects of the container and application lifecycle while optimizing the cluster for high density, performance and faster container boot times.
  • Platform integration tools including a rich SDK to allow integration of existing streaming solutions in the Anbox Cloud platform.
  • Support for both x86 and Arm64 hardware
  • Integrates with 3rd party solutions for binary translation solutions on Arm64-only hardware.

What’s new in 1.10?

Along with bugfixes and general improvements, Anbox Cloud 1.10 comes with:

  • Support for Android 11
  • Pinned Package Versions
  • Instant Session Handover
  • Nvidia Server Optimized GPU Drivers are used by default
  • Application Management inside the Anbox Cloud Dashboard

Check the release notes for more details.

Navigation

About

Installation

Operations

Managing Anbox Cloud

Using Anbox Cloud

Monitoring

Reference

Other things

URLs

Mapping table
Topic Path
Anbox Cloud documentation /docs
Anbox Cloud Overview /docs/overview
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/anbox-cloud-installation/17835 /docs/installation
Requirements /docs/installation/installation-requirements
Install with Juju /docs/installation/installation-quickstart
Customizing a deployment /docs/installation/installation-customizing
Setting up the Application Registry /docs/installation/installation-application-registry
Upgrading from previous versions /docs/installation/upgrading-from-previous-versions
Adding additional LXD nodes /docs/installation/adding-additional-lxd-nodes
Charm configuration /docs/installation/charm-configuration
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/registering-a-deployment/17748 /docs/installation/registering-a-deployment
Metrics collection /docs/installation/metrics-collection
High Availability /docs/installation/high-availability
Validation /docs/installation/validation
Getting started with Anbox Cloud /docs/manage/getting-started
Web Dashboard /docs/manage/web-dashboard
Managing LXD nodes /docs/manage/managing-lxd-nodes
Managing images /docs/manage/managing-images
Managing applications /docs/manage/managing-applications
Managing addons /docs/manage/managing-addons
Application Registry /docs/manage/application-registry
Managing containers /docs/manage/managing-containers
Instance Types /docs/manage/instance-types-reference
Capacity Planning /docs/manage/capacity-planning
GPU Support /docs/manage/gpu-support
Managing logs /docs/manage/managing-logs
Managing AMS access /docs/manage/managing-ams-access
Container access /docs/manage/container-access
Benchmarking a deployment /docs/manage/benchmarking-a-deployment
Streaming Android Applications /docs/manage/streaming-android-applications
Container configuration /docs/usage/usecase-container-configuration
Port Android application to Anbox Cloud /docs/usage/usecase-port-android-application-to-anbox-cloud
Anbox Streaming SDK /docs/usage/usecase-streaming-sdk
Application testing /docs/usage/usecase-application-testing
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/monitoring/17785 /docs/monitoring/monitoring
Monitoring: Installation /docs/monitoring/monitoring-installation
Monitoring: Grafana /docs/monitoring/monitoring-grafana
Monitoring: Nagios /docs/monitoring/monitoring-nagios
AMS Rest API /docs/reference/ams-rest-api-reference
Anbox HTTP API /docs/reference/anbox-http-api-reference
AMS SDK Guide /docs/reference/ams-sdk-api-reference
Anbox Platforms /docs/reference/anbox-platforms
Prometheus metrics /docs/reference/prometheus-metrics
Release notes /docs/changelog
Anbox Cloud SDKs /docs/sdks
Anbox Cloud FAQ /docs/faq
Virtual Devices /docs/usage/usecase-virtual-devices
Release Roadmap /docs/roadmap
AMS Configuration /docs/ams-configuration
Supported Versions /docs/supported-versions
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/lxd-auto-scaling/21351 /docs/lxd-auto-scaling
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/component-versions/21413 /docs/component-versions
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/implement-android-native-streaming-client/21833 /docs/implement-android-native-streaming-client
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/implement-web-based-streaming-client/21835 /docs/implement-web-based-streaming-client
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/exchange-out-of-band-data/21834 /docs/exchange-out-of-band-data
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/install-appliance/22681 /docs/install-appliance