Network Manager

Network Manager

NetworkManager is a system network service that manages your network devices and connections and attempts to keep network connectivity active when available. It manages Ethernet, WiFi, mobile broadband (WWAN) and PPPoE devices while also providing VPN integration with a variety of different VPN services.

By default network management on Ubuntu Core is handled by systemd’s networkd and netplan. However, when NetworkManager is installed, it will take control of all networking devices in the system by creating a netplan configuration file in which it sets itself as the default network renderer.

What NetworkManager Offers

The upstream NetworkManager project offers a wide range of features and most, but not all of them, are available in the snap package at the moment.

Currently we provide support for the following high level features:

  • WiFi connectivity
  • WWAN connectivity (together with ModemManager)
  • Ethernet connectivity
  • WiFi access point creation
  • Shared connections

Currently we do not support the following features:

  • VPN

Upstream documentation

Existing documentation from the upstream project can be found here.

Navigation

Install & Configure

Reference

Snap Configuration

Release Notes

Report a Bug

Ubuntu Core docs

URLs

Mapping table
Topic Path
Network Manager /core/docs/networkmanager/about-networkmanager
Install NetworkManager /core/docs/networkmanager/install
Exploring Network Status /core/docs/networkmanager/exploring-network-status
Configure WiFi Connections /core/docs/networkmanager/configure-wifi-connections
Configure WiFi Access Points /core/docs/networkmanager/configure-wifi-access-points
Configure Cellular Connections /core/docs/networkmanager/configure-cellular-connections
Configure shared connections /core/docs/networkmanager/configure-shared-connections
NetworkManager and netplan /core/docs/networkmanager/networkmanager-and-netplan
Edit Connections /core/docs/networkmanager/edit-connections
Routing Tables /core/docs/networkmanager/routing-tables
Logging Messages /core/docs/networkmanager/logging-messages
Default renderer /core/docs/networkmanager/snap-configuration/default-renderer
Debug NetworkManager /core/docs/networkmanager/snap-configuration/debug
Connectivity check /core/docs/networkmanager/snap-configuration/connectivity-check
Wake on WLAN /core/docs/networkmanager/snap-configuration/wake-on-wlan
WiFi Powersave /core/docs/networkmanager/snap-configuration/wifi-powersave
NetworkManager available commands /core/docs/networkmanager/networkmanager-available-commands
NetworkManager DBUS API /core/docs/networkmanager/networkmanager-dbus-api
Network Manager release notes /core/docs/networkmanager/release-notes
Network Manager report a bug /core/docs/networkmanager/report-a-bug