Reconcidering workflows

Hey guys, I’m Yaron, a Hebrew coordinator and translator.
I have few things in mind for a very long time (I’ve been volunteering for over 10 years now).

First: I think there should be an indication of what is an Ubuntu original project and what project should be handled upstream, this way we’ll be able to avoid duplicate work.

Second: I’m not sure Rosetta is good for us as translators anymore, the overhead is just too much to handle and there are much better open source solutions out there.

Third: I need a way to add new contributors as suggesters only, I don’t want them to affect my translation, is there any way to do it without giving permissions?

Canonical provided the greatest tools for the contributors several years ago but nowadays these tools are somewhat obsolete and the newer techniques available in the open source ecosystem is far different and advanced than the current Ubuntu contributors tools (somewhat usable yet time consuming).

4 Likes

Hello @yaron!

Thanks a lot for bringing this topic for discussion. I am an spanish translator, and I’ve also been affected by what you describe. Lately, I’ve been doing more upstream translations on transifex and weblate instead of launchpad.

Do you have any ideas we can start trying? Maybe we can use this site to coordinate the work and experiment.

I will invite my spanish teammates to join this discussion.

1 Like

Hi, my name is Rodrigo, I’m a spanish translator.
I agree with you in the tools being somewhat obsolete.
IMHO I identify the following problems:

1. There is almost no review process by other translators. This get more work done but impacts the quality.
  2. Glossaries are incomplete and is difficult to add more words while translating.
  3. There is no control or notification if someone have modified a string.
  4. There is no fast way of discussing a single sentence or word
  5. Some developers are benevolent and give us some clues in the notes but others don’t.