Grégory Schiano | Membership Application

Hello,

My name is Grégory Schiano, and I would like to submit my application to become an Ubuntu Member.

Past and current contributions

• I’ve been using Linux for over 20 years now, and have been using many distributions including Ubuntu over these years. I’ve been using it professionally and personally over this period and all the projects I’ve been involved in have always been on Linux.
  • When I left my position of CTO at Altissia, I wanted to give more to the community and ensure that this was entirely part of my day-to-day job, that’s why I joined Canonical in October 2022. Since then, as a Software architect, I’ve been involved in many projects that directly impact the Ubuntu community.
  • I’ve been working on the Discourse operator (Juju charm) used to host Ubuntu Discourse (as a reviewer and contributed to a few features: https://github.com/canonical/discourse-k8s-operator/commits/main/?author=gregory-schiano). The work on Discourse involves getting requirements from Aaron Prisk and making sure we deployed updated versions on Discourse along with enabling plugins for the community such as the events plugin, templates, etc.
  • I’ve also been working on the Indico operator (Juju charm) which is the foundation of every Ubuntu Summit since 2022. We put a lot of effort and contributions into improving that platform for the Ubuntu Community (mostly code review: https://github.com/canonical/indico-operator/commits/main/?author=gregory-schiano).