Bluetooth Management

Bluetooth Management

Bluetooth is a standard for wireless communication on short distances. It standardised multiple profiles for different use-cases such as music streaming, serial connections, message exchange, phone calls, and many others. It has been first published in 1994 and since then has been updated several times. The recent version called Bluetooth 5 is a major update and step forward towards the IoT market and it’s needs.

Bluetooth is developed and published by the Bluetooth Special Interest Group

About BlueZ

BlueZ is the official Linux Bluetooth stack. It provides, in it’s modular way, support for the core Bluetooth layers and protocols.

Currently BlueZ consists of many separate modules:

  • Bluetooth kernel subsystem core
  • L2CAP and SCO audio kernel layers
  • RFCOMM, BNEP, CMTP and HIDP kernel implementations
  • HCI UART, USB, PCMCIA and virtual device drivers
  • General Bluetooth and SDP libraries and daemons
  • Configuration and testing utilities
  • Protocol decoding and analysis tools

You can find more information about this on the BlueZ upstream homepage here

Learn More

Follow these links directly or use the menu on the left to learn more about Bluetooth on Ubuntu Core:

Navigation

Introduction

Install & Configure

Reference

Release Notes

Report a Bug

Ubuntu Core docs

URLs

Mapping table
Topic Path
Bluetooth Management /core/docs/bluez/introduction/bluetooth-management
Bluetooth on Ubuntu Core /core/docs/bluez/introduction/bluetooth-on-ubuntu-core
Install bluez /core/docs/bluez/install-configure/install
Bluez reference introduction /core/docs/bluez/reference/introduction
Bluez Prerequisites /core/docs/bluez/reference/prerequisites
Bluez Commands /core/docs/bluez/reference/commands
Bluez DBus API /core/docs/bluez/reference/dbus-api
Sending Files /core/docs/bluez/reference/sending-files
Introduction to Pairing /core/docs/bluez/reference/pairing/introduction
Outbound Pairing /core/docs/bluez/reference/pairing/outbound-pairing
Inbound Pairing /core/docs/bluez/reference/pairing/inbound-pairing
Accessing GATT Services /core/docs/bluez/reference/accessing-gatt-services
Device Enablement with Bluetooth /core/docs/bluez/reference/device-enablement/introduction
Supported Linux Kernels /core/docs/bluez/reference/device-enablement/supported-linux-kernels
Linux Kernel Configuration Options /core/docs/bluez/reference/device-enablement/linux-kernel-configuration-options
Snapping Bluetooth-enabled Application /core/docs/bluez/reference/device-enablement/snapping-bluetooth-application
Bluez Release notes /core/docs/bluez/release-notes
Bluez report a bug /core/docs/bluez/report-a-bug