Workshop about ubuntu

I am about to hold a workshop to encourage students and lecturers to start install and work on ubuntu. Any ideas or methods that help to deliver my message?

1 Like

As a student myself, what Iā€™ve found to be the most awesome at first about Ubuntu was:

• Free / Libre Open Source Software
  • Centralized package management & updates
  • An ā€œApp Storeā€
  • Stability
  • Using your server OS on your machine
  • The community aspect (Getting help, being able to suggest changes like w/ the new communitheme)
  • You can run Windows applications w/ WINE and use your GTK themes in them
  • Most modern software runs on Ubuntu natively
  • You can theme everything using CSS (As a web developer, this is mainly what keeps me using GNOME)
    And the Ubuntu Flavors of course - when I showed what Virtual Desktops looked like in GNOME and how intuitive it was, some of my classmates started using standard Ubuntu after 2 days, while others really liked the Kubuntu flavor and switched to it - just show them how you can but donā€™t have to change your desktop to what ever you want it to be. Also, highlighting the simplicity of GTK+ applications (like GNOME boxes, the Eolie browser etc.) did impress.
1 Like

your points sound good. The question is how can I engage them during the work shop . Are there any activities or questionnaire that I can use ?

Thereā€™s nothing ready-made that I know of. Itā€™s possible that the LoCo project has something available, or at least one of the LoCos in it. I would suggest contacting the loco-contacts list and also the nearest LoCo to you. Itā€™s possible that if there is one they could provide additional help, suggestions, and resources for you, including possibly peoplepower.

Barring that (and perhaps regardless of that), I think maybe something like this would be interesting:

1. Provide a questionnaire asking them about their opinions and experience with free software, like:
    • how hard is it to install software?