UBUNTU 18.10 SUPPORT: what will happen if it is no longer supported?

I am new to ubuntu… I’ve read in the ubuntu 18.10 notes that it has only 9 months for its support…my question is

1. Is it stable to use?
  2. what are the possibilities if its not supported?

Thank You…

Yes, it is. Once a distro is released, it is stable to use. There is no automatic updates/upgrades, so if one is worried about any breakage, one should not update manually. By experience, I can say that usually any Ubuntu release is stable. More than a decade, I use only the development releases (now 19.04), usually don’t have a problem with daily updates. If, by chance, any problem happens, the next upgrade would cover that.

It is pretty easy and quick to install any Ubuntu derivative, and, if you keep your Home in another partition, none of your data would get lost, if, by chance, your installation gets bricked. It usually doesn’t. :slight_smile:

Once, the new 19.04 is released upgrade to it using the system upgrader.

This site is for the co-ordination of the Ubuntu project(s), and not support.

For Ubuntu Support options, please have a look at https://community.ubuntu.com/t/finding-help/712

As to your question, yes Ubuntu 18.10 is stable & fit to use. Before it’s EOL (end-of-life date) you will be offered to upgrade to Ubuntu 19.04 (or you can `do-release-upgrade yourself when 19.04 is released next month). Ubuntu 19.04 is also a 9 month release, but you’ll be offered to release-upgrade to 19.10 before then, then to Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Your other option is Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (LTS=long-term-support, or a five (5) year life span). By default 18.04 LTS will offer upgrade to Ubuntu 20.04.1 when it gets released, ie. a LTS release upgrades to the next LTS release by default, but you can put yourself off the LTS path & go to 18.10, 19.04, 19.10 then 20.04 and decide again. LTS releases are even years & April.