Simon Chopin | Core Dev Application

This application normally belongs on the Ubuntu wiki, but current circumstances led me to create here instead. See this ML thread. I figured this subcategory was the most appropriate, given that Core Dev is a special form of Ubuntu Membership :slight_smile:.

I, Simon Chopin, apply for core-dev.

Name: Simon Chopin
Launchpad Page: Simon Chopin in Launchpad

I am applying because

• As part of the Foundations team, a lot of my work deals with the main component of the archive
  • I’d like to eliminate delays in getting my work sponsored
  • I’d like to reduce the burden on my sponsors

Who I am

I am a software engineer hailing from Brittany, France, currently employed by Canonical within the Foundations team. When I’m not working on the internals of Ubuntu as part of my dayjob, you’ll usually find me playing either music or videogames, both of which usually involve fiddling with my computer setup.

My Ubuntu story

My involvement

As part of the Foundations team, my area of impact includes language toolchains, bootloaders, installer, and other core components of the system. I’ve touched a rather wide range of packages, mostly C libraries and utilities, but my main involvements are netplan development, the Rust toolchain and OpenSSL packaging, for which I’ve driven the transition to version 3.0.

Examples of my work / Things I’m proud of

Areas of work

During the 22.04 development cycle, as part of my role within Foundations I’ve cooperated with multiple teams (e.g. Desktop, Server, Security…), notably due to my OpenSSL work. My involvement in Netplan development also gave me the opportunity to work with people from the Ubuntu Core team.

Things I could do better

Besides attention to details, I feel like I lack decisiveness and should also communicate more effectively both within the developer community and with the broader Ubuntu community.

Plans for the future

General