Personalisation of formats

Hello,
I’m new to Ubuntu and the communities.
This is maybe not the right place for this topic, if so please feel free to delete the topic.

After installing Ubuntu I tried to set the language, date, time and number formats. However, I was surprised to find that there is apparently no interface for doing this. There is a choice of country, which then sets the language and all the other formats as a package.
I have no “country”. For my daily use, I need to set the formats independently of any “country” pack or “locale”.
I and many of my colleagues are internationals. We have moved from the place where we were born, many of us live very close to a national border, living on one side and working on the other. In my particular case I am originally a Dutch language Belgian, but for the last 45 years I have been in France, close to Geneva in Switzerland, and I worked at CERN where I used almost exclusively English.
I can’t use any of the English locales nor the French or Swiss.
My settings on other systems are:
language=English
currency=euro — €
units=metric
date=YYYY-MM-DD — 2020-12-13
long date= day, d month year — Sunday, 13 December 2020
first day of the week=Monday
time=HH:MM:SS — 20:28:48
thousands (group) separator="’" (single quote)
decimal point="." — 12’345’678.99

How do I do that, so that all applications (e.g. LibreOffice) use it?
It is easy in Windows and MacOS.

Also, I need to switch off spelling checking system-wide, because I mix at least three languages plus a lot of acronym — and I know how to spell.

So, I would like to know how I can easily do all that without typing terminal line commands. If it’s not possible, then it is a suggestion for future implementation.

Best regards,

1 Like

Hi Robert,