Make a HTML5/Electron-based Kiosk Snap

Key Value
Summary Build and deploy an Electron-based kiosk application as a snap.
Categories iot
Difficulty 3
Author Alan Griffiths alan.griffiths@canonical.com

Superseded

This article has been superseded…

Due to the myriad of Electron app packaging systems, this tutorial will assume you already have a snap of your Electron app for Ubuntu Classic. Details on achieving this are available here:

https://docs.snapcraft.io/build-snaps/electron

A) The tutorial assumes you have a snap of your Electron
B) it links to a tutorial which uses electron-builder to create a snap.

Fine so far, because electron-builder in B builds a snap file which is requested in A. But later it explains how to convert the electron snap into a kiosk snap by changing the yaml configuration file. This is not possible, however. Because you used electron-builder, you don’t have such a yaml file. You only get a snap-file.

As a complete beginner to snaps I’m really confused. I searched and searched for this yaml file but couldn’t find it. Now I guess the tutorial aims to build an electron-snap via yaml file completely on your own instead of electron-builder. Therefore I suggest to remove the link to electron-builder at all.

A recent change to the Snapcraft build process broke this tutorial and I believe it now needs an extra npm install in the override-build section.

I also agree it’s quite confusing that the tutorial assumes you already have a working snap. The tutorial depends on reading several other tutorials to make sense of it and it would be great if it could be more self-contained.

I still haven’t been able to figure out whether it’s possible to create a single snap which works on both Ubuntu Classic and Ubuntu Core using this process.

2 Likes