Jason C. Nucciarone (nuccitheboss) for Ubuntu Community Council 2024

Who am I?

My name is Jason C. Nucciarone, and I am one of the “Not so Ancient Elders” of the Ubuntu High-Performance Computing Community team. By day I am an HPC engineer at Canonical working on Charmed HPC, and by night I work on various things around the Ubuntu Community such as chairing the Ubuntu Summit, planning UbuCon’s, writing abstract proposals for various conferences, and attending conferences to spread awareness about our community and the open source projects under our umbrella (and promote using Ubuntu for HPC). I’m also involved with the Snapcrafters and a moderator for the Snapcraft Forum.

Outside of tech, I like to travel, go camping, and party.

Why do I want to join the Community Council?

I have multiple reasons for why I want to join the Community Council for a two year term:

• Communication platforms modernization

• I think we’ve made leaps and strides over the past year by adopting Matrix as an official communications platform and electing a Matrix Council. I believe that this has greatly improved the accessibility of the community. I’d like to purse how we can further modernize how we communicate such as looking at the community mailing lists and possibly pursuing other avenues for forum-like, asynchronous communication.
  • Fishing outside the pond

• I want to figure out how to reach people that are “outside our circle of friends.” E.g. reach people that don’t go - or are unable to go - to the big FOSS events, aren’t necessarily desktop-focused, or just aren’t aware of the wider open source community, and connect them with opportunities in the Ubuntu Community. I want to make it easier to onboard new contributors so that veteran community members are less likely to become burned out, or feel like they can’t take a break.
  • Casting a wider net