Enhanced Ubuntu VM in Hyper-V

Hello Ubuntu community,

I’m a Program Manager at Microsoft on the Hyper-V team. If you’ve ever run Ubuntu in Hyper-V, you’ve probably noticed the experience is missing out on some essential creature comforts–things like clipboard or drive redirection. We want to change this, and we want Ubuntu to be the distro where we focus our efforts initially.

Our investigation has led us to contribute to the open source project XRDP and leverage the work that the folks at XRDP have done to enable a better experience through Hyper-V. We’re partnering with Canonical to ensure the Bionic Beaver experience will be a turn-key experience.

If you’re interested in testing out the feature, we’d love to have you along for the ride. We’ve written a blog post that details the steps required to get the feature set up in Hyper-V.

We’d love to hear any feedback you have.

Cheers!

7 Likes
if [ "$?" == "1" ]; then
sudo bash -c 'echo "deb http://archive.ubuntu.com/ubuntu/ bionic-proposed restricted main multiverse universe" >> /etc/apt/sources.list <<EOF
EOF'
fi

sudo apt update && sudo apt dist-upgrade -y

Adding bionic-proposed onto a users system (even if it is a new VM) is not a good idea. The -proposed archive on a development release is going to be broken (by design) as it catches any packages with dependency issues. This is not meant for human consumption and will quite likely cause issues that are completely unrelated to your work.

It is much safer to use a PPA to distribute packages while you wait for updates to migrate through -proposed into main. You can even just copy pacakages from -proposed across to the PPA.

It would also be cleaner and more reliable to use a PPA for your 16.04 build, rather than building from source in the target VM. That way you can only upload know good builds to the ppa, and not rely on the git repo that may become broken at any point in time due to ongoing development.

2 Likes

Great feedback on this, thank you.