Edubuntu 23.04 Released

We are pleased to announce the release of Edubuntu 23.04, codenamed “Lunar Lobster”. This has been a project of love for my husband Erich and myself and I am happy to see it back with the people where it belongs once again.

This release will be supported for nine months (Until January 2024).

My name is Amy Eickmeyer and have worked in early childhood for nearly twenty years. When I was a preschool teacher, I remember using Edubuntu in my classroom in 2015 so the children could learn simple, educational games.

Fast forward seven years and I’m at the Ubuntu Summit in Prague. I learned that Edubuntu was no longer being supported. At this point, I had moved onto administrative work in early education and wasn’t staying as up to date as I would have liked. My last night in Prague, I was talking to someone about why I was there, what I found interesting and what could be added to not only get myself more interested, but my son as well. As I looked at my son, who was the youngest attendee of the summit, I thought of all the wonderful sessions I had heard while there. I thought it would be great if someone could talk about how education was being impacted by Ubuntu. I told my husband about it, and the project took off from there.

I currently work at a nonprofit that helps refugees and immigrants from Africa. Most of the assistance that they get is free and I thought that Edubuntu would be a wonderful addition to our classrooms. However, not only would it be great in our classrooms, but every classroom. My husband and I began organizing Edubuntu into not only grade levels, but subjects to make it easy to navigate.

Features

By default, Edubuntu’s application overview is alphabetized, which makes it a learning tool out-of-the-box so students can see an example of alphabetization and cataloging. Additionally, educational applications are grouped into folders by subject, making the application overview easy to navigate.