Commit rights to cloud-init for James Falcon

Who I am

My name is James Falcon. I’m a software engineer at Canonical and have been working with Python for the past 10 years. Prior to working on cloud-init, I have written software professionally for avionics, telecommunications, and distributed databases. I have also made meaningful contributions to a number of open source projects.

How I came to work on cloud-init

I came to work on cloud-init through employment at Canonical. I have been working on cloud-init for the past 6 months.

My involvement

Examples of my work / Things I’m proud of

My list of commits can be seen here:
https://github.com/canonical/cloud-init/commits?author=TheRealFalcon

Since starting on the project, I have contributed 16 commits and performed 64 reviews (as of Nov 10).

Some PRs that stand out include:

I also presented the integration testing framework at the 2020 cloud-init summit.

Areas of work

My two main areas of focus thus far have been Oracle IMDSv2 and integration testing. I have worked primarily alongside the cloud-init core committers on these efforts.

Things I could do better

There is still much of the cloud-init codebase that I haven’t yet had the opportunity to work with. I will learn more as I go, but in the mean time I know to ask for help when I need it. Additionally, I would like to be more involved in the #cloud-init freenode channel, though I often feel the other participants there are still better able to answer questions.

Plans for the future

I plan on continuing to learn and contribute to cloud-init. I would like to make additional progress in adding integration tests in addition to contributing to anything else on the broader project roadmap.

General

What I like least in cloud-init