Commit Rights to cloud-init for Brett Holman

Who I am

My name is Brett Holman. I am a software engineer at Canonical. Prior to working on cloud-init I evaluated, managed, and developed software for distributed linux systems and networks in the field of High Performance Computing. I have made meaningful contributions to various open source projects.

How I came to work on cloud-init

I came to work on cloud-init through my employment at Canonical. I have been working on cloud-init for 4 months.

My involvement

Examples of my work / Things I’m proud of

To date (January 21, 2022), I have contributed 19 commits and 26 reviews to cloud-init. My code contributions have included a mix of features, bugfixes, and general project maintenance. These changes have touched different parts of the project including distro, datasource, and config modules.

A few notable PRs include:

• Remove (deprecated) apt-key
    This removed dependency on a deprecated utility and enabled a more fine-grained trust model to GPG keys for individual repos.
  • Add Strict Metaschema Validation
    After noticing that an invalid metaschema definition could cause silent failures that are challenging to debug, I proposed stricter metaschema validation to help prevent future invalid metaschemas.
  • Add ec2 IPv6 IMDS Support
    This hasn’t been merged yet, but it is my first “real” PR affecting datasources. Assuming this gets merged, hopefully this work can be extended to support other datasource IMDS.
  • Add 21.4 tests
    I added integration test coverage for growpart.
  • Reorganize unit test locations under tests/unittests
    This PR clarified unit test location. This cleanup PR is notable only for touching many files in the codebase (and therefore will show up in many future git blames).

Things I could do better

There are many things I could do better; I am only human. Several areas of improvement include:

• my experience with the various supported clouds is limited