Commit rights to cloud-init for Alberto Contreras

Who I am

My name is Alberto Contreras. I’m a software engineer at Canonical with a background in mathematics. I have been working as a software/scientific engineer for the past 5 years in the fields of Monte-Carlo simulations, smart cities, reconciliation in banking and digital marketing using technologies as Python, C/C++ and Matlab.

How I came to work on cloud-init

I came to work on cloud-init through employment at Canonical. I have been working on cloud-init for the past 4 months.

My involvement

Examples of my work / Things I’m proud of

To date (2022-09-02), I have contributed 57 commits and 43 reviews to cloud-init.

Areas of work

I have been working on jsonschema’s functionality, config modules and general bug fixes. I worked mainly with the cloud-init team plus some interactions with UA and CPC teams.

Things I could do better

• Do more code reviews, triaging and community interaction.
  • Familiarize with cloud-init parts as networking, init stages, packaging and release machinery.
  • Technical communication.

Plans for the future

• Explore the code-base more deeply.
  • Do more code reviews, triaging and community responses.
  • Explore ideas about speeding up modules’ execution (parallelization, concurrency).
  • Increase code quality.

General

What I like least in cloud-init

• Sometimes, there are multiple ways to do the same thing and I feel that the amount of accidental complexity could be reduced via abstracting / refactoring things. I realize this is normal in a long-lived open-source project that minimizes the amount of breaking changes. But I also recognize that my exposure to the code-base is small, so I could be wrong.
  • A lot of times the only way to know what a config module is really going to perform is go and read the code. I think that improving the config modules’ documentation would have a huge impact for cloud-init’s consumer perspective.