Document Camera Client

Please use this template to propose making a new Ubuntu Appliance. Post your topic here with the tag #pna.

Your interest and involvement

I am a teacher struggling to connect with my students. I’ve been teaching for 20 years. Distance learning is very tricky. I need to see what my students are working on. If a student is making a mistake, I’d like to be able to correct it in real time. For example, a student working on math problems might have the wrong algorithm. If I can intercede quickly, I can correct the student’s algorithm while they work. Being able to have a document camera client would allow me to build raspberry pi document cameras for my students cheaply and quickly.

Is this an appliance for a project you lead or contribute to? Are you expressing interest in having this appliance, or in contributing to it?
I’d like to build cheap document cameras for all my students. This client would go in to the raspberry pie running things.

Audience

Is this an appliance for home users? Makers? Software engineers? Who would you like to reach with this appliance?
This client will be put in student document cameras allowing for a quick wifi connection and ease of use.

Software considerations

Does the software for this appliance already run on Linux? On Ubuntu? Is there a snap yet? Is the software open source? Does your proposed new appliance require the use of any other snaps or software that you are not the maintainer of? e.g mir-kiosk or Microk8s.

Hardware considerations

What hardware should your proposed new appliance work on? Are there any accessory requirements (cameras, actuators, relays, GPIO?) Does your proposed new appliance need anything extra or specific to work? e.g an external monitor, a dev kit, extra parts, etc.

It would be nice to have the raspberry pi and be headless and plug and play.

Security considerations

Does your appliance require Secure Boot or full disk encryption?

Privacy